Dementia Online Series: Overview and Diagnosis

  • Online Course

Dementia is a syndrome of changes in cognition that affect functional abilities. There are numerous types of dementia and may require different diagnostic procedures. All are progressive neurodegenerative diseases.

This learning module will describe common symptoms in the syndrome of dementia, outline the diagnostic process, designate the four most common types of dementia, summarize the stages of dementia, and review current and future treatments.

  • Start
    Location Online

Course Details

This module will be of interest to health care providers, patients, families and caregivers of those experiencing dementia.

The module will take approximately 1 1/2 hours to complete, which can be conducted in 15-20 minute segments taken at your own pace.

You can view the module as many times as you desire.


This is an online course. You will receive an email with instructions after you have been enrolled in the course. After setting a password, you can access the online course by clicking the 'My CE' tab and then following the 'Blackboard 1.0' link to the right of the course title under 'Courses I'm registered for'.

Request More Info

For more information on this course, please fill out the form and an ASU staff member will be in contact with you. We look forward to welcoming you into the ASU community.